How not to Mod Podge…

I recently discovered an article about transferring image to canvas. It seemed amazing – verging on magical and I couldn’t believe I had never heard of this infamous Mod Podge medium before now. Naturally, I went straight to Hobby Craft, bought a pot and got creating. Ever the optimist, I assumed it would work wonderfully and immediately. Needless to say, it didn’t quite turn out how I had envisaged. The pictures all turned white and I clearly scrubbed far too hard… Gutted! I was going for a cool, distressed look, but my creation just looks thoroughly ugly.

Onwards and upwards – I have learnt a few lessons about Mod Podging: 1. Allow the Mod Podge to dry over night; 2. Be patient and gentle with the scrubbing; 3. Do not completely drench the pictures with water whilst scrubbing; 4) Less is sometimes more (use one picture).

Would love to know what you think?

